Getting a DUI in the state of Georgia has far-reaching consequences, even if it’s your first offense. The penalties for a DUI may vary based on previous offenses, if there were children in the car, whether you are a minor or an adult, if you were driving recklessly, or any other number of factors. Regardless of other charges present, a DUI will result in suspense of your license. For reinstatement, you must complete DDS-Approved DUI classes in GA as one part of the process.

What is the penalty for a DUI?

dui-classes-ga-drinkIn Georgia, a DUI offense results in a suspended license for one year, if it is the first time in 5 years. It also results in possible jail time for up to one year, a fine that may range from $300 to $1,000, and a minimum of 40 hours of mandatory community service. After 120 days, you can apply to have your license reinstated if you meet certain requirements. You must present a certificate of completion of a DDS-Approved DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program. This is completed at the offender’s expense. You also must pay a fee to have your license reinstated.

For subsequent offenses within 5 years, your license will be suspended for longer. The other fines and penalties will increase as well.

What Can Add to DUI Penalties?

A DUI combined with other charges is much more serious. Other charges that could add to a DUI are reckless driving, child endangerment, or homicide or injury by vehicle. These charges are separate from the DUI charge and will never be combined. They can also result in multiple DUI charges.

For example, with child endangerment, you will get an additional charge for every child under the age of 14 in the vehicle. Aggressive driving will result in a charge of a misdemeanor of a high and aggravated nature and a six point assessment toward the suspension of their driver’s license.

If you are underage, a DUI results in a license suspension for 30 days minimum and a $300 fine. Your license might be suspended until you are 18. You will have two separate charges: DUI and underage drinking.

How Do I Get my License Reinstated?

To get your license reinstated after your first offense, you need to wait 120 days. After that, completion of DDS-Approved DUI classes in GA is required. You also must pay a $210 reinstatement fee.dui-classes-ga-driving

If your license was suspended because of a DUI, I Day or II Nights Defensive Driving & DUI is here to help you get back on track. Our DDS-Approved program consists of 3 steps:

  1. An assessment survey
  2. A 20-hour class over 3 consecutive days
  3. A course program work book titled “Prime for Life.”

The fee for the class is $360, which is set by the state of Georgia. Once you finish the course, you will receive a certificate of completion that you will present to the DDS.

Get Back on the Road with Our DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program!

We have successfully helped drivers convicted of a DUI get their licenses back and get back on the road. If you have questions or would like to enroll, call us today at 678-940-5112 or fill out our contact form at the bottom of our website to schedule a class.

defensive driving class